What is the Nine Umde Statement, and What Is Its Basis? Nine Umde (Principles) Principles and Articles

During the establishment of the new Turkish state, issues that need to be resolved quickly The Nine Umde Statements are the basis of what as noticeable? Principles contained in the Nine Purposes which ones? We searched for answers to all the frequently asked questions about Dokuz Umde. Here are all the details…

What is the Nine Umde?

the Nine Umdee or Nine Principles Statement; It was published by Mustafa Kemal Atatürk on April 8, 1923. This document, which clearly reveals the ideology and characteristics of the Turkish revolution, is also described as the party program of the People’s Party (Republican People’s Party), which will be established on September 11, 1923. In the light of all this informationNine Umde which party The answer to the question will be the Republican People’s Party.

Nine Umde Topics

It was announced by Mustafa Kemal Atatürk and consisted of 9 items in total. Nine Umde threads is as follows:

  • Sovereignty unconditionally belongs to the nation. Administrative management is based directly on the self-determination of the people and the real representative of the nation is the Turkish Grand National Assembly. No person or power other than the Turkish Grand National Assembly can dominate the destiny of the nation.
  • Since the sovereign authority is vested in the Turkish Grand National Assembly, which is the real representative of the people, the decision of the assembly on the abolition of the Sultanate on 1 November 1922 is an unchangeable principle.
  • Ensuring the internal security of the country is one of the most important tasks.
  • It will be ensured that Turkish courts deliver justice quickly. Legislation to be regulated; It will be prepared again in accordance with national needs and scientific law understanding.
  • Tithe tax will be abolished. financial institutions; It will be made easier to lend to farmers, industrialists and traders. Ziraat Bank’s capital will be increased and it will be made easier to help farmers.
  • Military service will be shortened. In addition, the military service period of those who can read and write and those who learn to read and write in the military will be shortened.
  • Retired officers from the Turkish army will be provided with the best possible life. The misery of the disabled, widows and orphans and retirees will not be allowed for the defense of the country.
  • The shortcomings of the civil servants will be eliminated in order to fulfill the people’s affairs more quickly.
  • In addition to the services to be provided by the state for the rapid development and repair of the devastated country, the private sector will also be encouraged. An environment of peace will be created on the condition of ensuring financial, economic and political independence. However, a peace treaty that does not fulfill these conditions will not be accepted.

Principles of the Nine Umpires

Dokuz Umde, which was published by Mustafa Kemal Atatürk on September 8, 1923 and also has the feature of being the party program of the newly established People’s Party; It was later reorganized and reduced to six. These principles, which were determined as Republicanism, Populism, Nationalism, Secularism, Statism and Revolutionism, were transformed into Six Arrows, the symbol of the Republican People’s Party.

These six accepted principles were accepted as the main principles of Kemalism at the 4th Congress of the Republican People’s Party held in 1935, and with this program, the term Kemalism was included in the party program for the first time.

These principles were included in the constitution on 5 November 1937 and took their place among the immutable articles of the constitution.

After the death of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, at the CHP’s First Extraordinary Congress held on December 26, 1938, the decision to “Protect and Defend the Six Arrows of Kemalism” was taken once again.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button